Finding Time to Read.

Overwhelmed: Work, Love and Play When No One Has The Time by Brigid Schulte.  The latest in a line of books about women’s Overwhelmedstruggle with work and motherhood, and how these traditional concerns are starting to affect men. I just started it, but so far it’s great (and validating as I try to make big life choices as a 35-year old woman who wants to have a child).

In the passage where an expert talks to the author about defining leisure time, he asks, “Well then, what does leisure look like to you?”  Her response, “A sick day.”

It was especially funny to me because the first time I’ve had a chance to read this book since I bought it was because I was at home sick.

I learned about the book in an article on the Atlanticwhich appeared in my Facebook feed, and immediately purchased it through my Amazon app on my iPhone. Instant gratification or lack of impulse control? Maybe both.

 

Leave a comment